Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
list an event      1 million Australian readers every month      facebook

The Sending - Book Review

Home > Brisbane > Books and Writing | Book Reviews | Literary
by Chrystal Byrne (subscribe)
Freelance writer living on Brisbane's north side. Studied creative industries - currently studying library and information services.
Published September 4th 2012
The Obernewtyn Chronicles
Book 6: The Sending

The time has come. Elspeth must vacate her beloved Obernewtyn, the shelter and sanctuary that she helped fight for, to begin the last leg of her quest as the Seeker. She must leave Rushton, her love, in the wake of his proposal in order to adhere to the summons. She must destroy the Sentinel before history repeats.

Darga, the old Council-bred dog missing since the demise of his boy-master Jik, finally appears beneath Elspeth's window, just like the Elder said he would. Maruman, the old one-eyed cat, seems only too eager to leave and Gahltha, the mighty black stallion, knows he must leave his mate and foal behind. But for Elspeth, who has known for years that this night would come, leaving is the hardest thing she has had to do.

"It came to me then, like a chilly draught from an unseen gap, that I had always known in my deepest heart that it would be like this, a slipping away from a life full of people I had come to love, in a place I had helped to shape, in a land I had helped to free" (Isobelle Carmody 2011, The Sending).

Elspeth, Darga, Maruman and Gahltha trek far into the mountains, guided by Maruman's knowledge and Darga's nose, and find friends; even though Elspeth believed the quest would be her's alone, and even though she would never wish her quest upon anyone. Now with her rag-tag bunch of friends, animal and human, Elspeth soldiers on over tainted ground to finish what the Beforetimers started.

The Sending - Isobelle Carmody
The Sending - Isobelle Carmody

The Sending is book six in a seven-book-long series by Australian author Isobelle Carmody. The Sending was originally published in 2011 and has been published by Random House and Penguin. Isobelle Carmody began writing the Obernewtyn Chronicles when she was just fourteen-years-old and the books have become her most celebrated to date.

The books in the Obernewtyn Chronicles are as follows:
• Obernewtyn (1987)
• The Farseekers (1990)
• Ashling (1995)
• The Keeping Place (1999)
• The Stone Key (2008)
The Sending (2011)
The Red Queen (predicted to be 2013)
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  9
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Because you want a new book to read
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles