Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Super Rugby 2016

Home > Wellington > Competitions | Outdoor | Sport | July
by Huttriverofnz (subscribe)
I'm a writer blogger who has been resident in the Hutt Valley since the late 1960's. I'm a father, grandfather and great-grandfather. I have seen many people come and go over the years, seen many things good and bad. Time to remember life...
Event: -
Public Domain

The world's premier rugby union Sanzaar Super 18 competition enters play-off stage this coming weekend. Two new franchises entered the competition this year from Argentina and Japan.

After 17 rounds of regular competition between three new conferences this year, eight teams move into play-offs and for the other ten teams their season is over.

Of the top eight sides, four are from New Zealand, three from South Africa and one from Australia. New Zealand, South Africa and Australia have five franchise teams, Argentina and Japan one each.

These play-offs are knockout, sudden death affairs. There are no bonus points, just wins and losses.

The Sanzaar Super 18 2016 Rugby play-offs are below:

Friday 22 July

20.00 pm Brumbies (Aus) v Highlanders (NZ) at Canberra

Saturday 23 July

19.35 pm Hurricanes (NZ) v Sharks at Wellington

Sunday 24 July

02.30 am Lions (SA) v Crusaders (NZ) at Johannesburg

05.00 am Stormers (SA) Chiefs (NZ) at Cape Town

The following week the winners play-off for the semi-finals TBA

The losers season is over.

The following and final week of the competion the two winners play-off for the Grand Final. The losers season is over.

Brief history:

Super 12 (1996-2005)

Super 14 (2006-2010)

Super 16 (2011-2015)

Super 18 (2016 Two new teams added)
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  6
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Play-offs
When: This weekend
Where: NZ, Australia, South Africa
Cost: Stadium entry charges
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Popular Articles