Stumptown Volume 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo by Greg Rucka - Book Review

Stumptown Volume 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo by Greg Rucka - Book Review

Post
Subscribe

Posted 2023-12-03 by Jennifer Muirheadfollow


Dex Parios, of Stumptown Investigations, is a PI with a gambling problem and a Down Syndrome brother to support. Having racked up a debt at a casino that she can't possibly pay back, Dex can't say no when the casino's owner, Sue-Lynne, offers to waive her debt in exchange for a favour. Sue-Lynne's granddaughter, Charlotte has gone missing, possibly "run off with a boy" and she wants Dex to find her. The case seems simple enough, but Dex quickly finds herself making a lot of new enemies.



Stumptown is a comic book series written by Greg Rucka (author of Lazarus and Batwoman: Elegy) and illustrated by Mathew Southland (of Shadowman and Infinity Inc.). It was first published in 2012 and is now the basis of a TV series produced by the US ABC network.

I really enjoyed this book, which reminded me a little of Jessica Jones, only without the superpowers. It's a gritty piece of modern noir with a tough female protagonist who is good at thinking on her feet. It made a bit of a change that there was no romance subplot, at least not in volume one, but I tagged this one as "gay and lesbian" because Dex appears to be bisexual, even though she doesn't have time to do anything about it.

Stumptown Volume 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo (but left her mini) is a gripping read that will probably appeal to fans of Jessica Jones, Wynonna Earp and Veronica Mars.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Oni Press, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

#lgbtiq
#comics
#books-writing
#book-reviews
#arts_culture
%wneverywhere

Other articles by Jennifer Muirhead:
Revival Volume 4
Krampus
Beneath Us
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 8
85605 - 2023-06-11 07:11:41

Tags

Music
Free
Arts_culture
Film_tv_reviews
Random
Outdoor
Family_friendly
Nightlife
Community
Festivals
Food_drink
Fundraisers
Educational
Theatre_shows
Holiday
Copyright 2024 OatLabs ABN 18113479226