Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Stumptown Volume 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo by Greg Rucka - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Television | Gay & Lesbian | Comics | Books and Writing | Book Reviews
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published October 6th 2019
Know when to walk away
Stumptown, Greg Rucka, graphic novel, comic, crime comics, comics about crime, detective, Veronica Mars


Dex Parios, of Stumptown Investigations, is a PI with a gambling problem and a Down Syndrome brother to support. Having racked up a debt at a casino that she can't possibly pay back, Dex can't say no when the casino's owner, Sue-Lynne, offers to waive her debt in exchange for a favour. Sue-Lynne's granddaughter, Charlotte has gone missing, possibly "run off with a boy" and she wants Dex to find her. The case seems simple enough, but Dex quickly finds herself making a lot of new enemies.

Stumptown, comics, graphic novels, ABC tv, noir, detective series, comics about private investigators


Stumptown is a comic book series written by Greg Rucka (author of Lazarus and Batwoman: Elegy) and illustrated by Mathew Southland (of Shadowman and Infinity Inc.). It was first published in 2012 and is now the basis of a TV series produced by the US ABC network.

I really enjoyed this book, which reminded me a little of Jessica Jones, only without the superpowers. It's a gritty piece of modern noir with a tough female protagonist who is good at thinking on her feet. It made a bit of a change that there was no romance subplot, at least not in volume one, but I tagged this one as "gay and lesbian" because Dex appears to be bisexual, even though she doesn't have time to do anything about it.

Stumptown Volume 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo (but left her mini)
is a gripping read that will probably appeal to fans of Jessica Jones, Wynonna Earp and Veronica Mars.


Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Oni Press, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  33
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions