Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

The Stone Key - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Books and Writing | Libraries | Literary | Misc
by Chrystal Byrne (subscribe)
Freelance writer living on Brisbane's north side. Studied creative industries - currently studying library and information services.
Published September 3rd 2012
The Obernewtyn Chronicles
Book 5: The Stone Key

The rebellion is over, but even in its aftermath Elspeth Gordie finds herself fighting for freedom. Elspeth sets off to Sutrium to speak at the trial of the rebel traitor Malik, the man who orchestrated the cruel slaughter of her fellow Misfits and their horses. After finding herself side tracked by news that another Misfit hater, the rebel Vos, has taken command of an entire town, Elspeth finds herself yet again in Malik's games.

The Herder Faction, an order of corrupt and cruel religious fanatics who had curiously exited the land in the lead up to the rebellion, is planning an invasion from Herder Isle. They want the Land, free from the rule of the Council, and Malik's going to give it to them.

Armed with nothing but the powers of her own mind, Elspeth must infiltrate the walls of Herder Isle and destroy all chances of the Herders claiming the Land. She becomes a prisoner after she is found stowing away on a Herder-controlled ship and is brought within the Faction's folds.

The Stone Key by Isobelle Carmody
The Stone Key by Isobelle Carmody

The Stone Key is book five in a seven-book-long series by Australian author Isobelle Carmody. The Stone Key was originally published in 2008 and has been published by Random House and Penguin. Isobelle Carmody began writing the Obernewtyn Chronicles when she was just fourteen-years-old and the books have become her most celebrated to date.

Shortly after its release, The Stone Key was shortlisted for 'Young Adult Novel' in the Aurealis Awards. In 1996, the third book in the series, Ashling, was shortlisted for the same award. The Stone Key, just like the novels preceding it in the series, is intriguing, intelligent and intense. The books are hard to put down and the characters are made to feel like friends.

The books in the series are as follows:
Obernewtyn (1987)
The Farseekers (1990)
Ashling (1995)
The Keeping Place (1999)
The Stone Key (2008)
The Sending (2011)
The Red Queen (predicted to be 2013)
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  8
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Because you want a new book to read.
When: Now.
Where: In the comfort of your own home.
Cost: From $9.95 on QBD online
Your Comment
More Everywhere articles
Articles from other cities
Popular Articles