Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Sorry, Not Sorry - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Books and Writing | Fun Things To Do | Romantic
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published February 19th 2020
Time to shake things up a bit
romance, writing, books, novel, romance novel, romcom, British romance novel, rom com, Sophie Ranald


When her best friend and former housemate has moved to the suburbs with her fiance, Charlotte feels like she is stuck in a rut, still single with no romance on the horizon. Over a late-night Ben and Jerry's binge she discovers a podcast called Sorry, Not Sorry, whose host challenges women to "embrace their inner bad girl". This gives Charlotte the push she needs to get out of her comfort zone and try something new, like flirting with a stranger, asking for a man's number and buying herself some sexy lingerie.

Sorry, Not Sorry is one of a series of four romance novels by Sophie Ranald that centre around The Daily Grind, the coffee shop near where the characters live. All four books are stand-alone novels, but the events do intersect. Gemma, from Out With the Ex, In With the New has a brief cameo in this one, and Tansy, from It's Not You, It's Him is Charlotte's housemate.

It was interesting to see Tansy, who is so down on herself and her personal appearance in her own story described by Charlotte as "stunning", and also to get a bit more of Tansy's backstory.

This book was a bit racier than the other two in the series I have read, with a more explicit sex scene, but it is still much more about the romance than the sex. Charlotte faces a lot of personal drama, with her housemates, her job, and her relationship with Myles, the handsome architect she meets through work. She starts to hope that she will have a boyfriend to bring as her plus one to Maddy's wedding after all, but of course things can't be that simple or it wouldn't be a rom-com.

For cat lovers, Freezer, the cat who technically belongs to Charlotte's neighbours, Hannah and Luke, though he spends half his time next door, also features in this book.

While these novels would make sense on their own, the more I read of the series, the more I feel I'm actually getting to know these characters and being sucked into their world, so I'm going to be a bit sad when I finish the last book, No We Can't Be Friends, which is about Gemma's agent, Sloane.

Sorry, Not Sorry is a clever, feel-good romantic comedy, which will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella or Jo Watson.
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  13
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions