Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

The Seven Sisters Series - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Indoor | Rainy Day | Romantic | Trivia
by Janelle (subscribe)
I like to participate in life rather than be a spectator. Music, dancing, theatre, travelling, food, cycling and walking are some of my passions. Writing is an enjoyable pastime that allows me to share my experiences.
Published June 28th 2017
Let Your Imagination Be Guided To Adventure
Astronomy, mythology, fiction, saga
The Pleiades star cluster

The Seven Sisters Series is an amazing concept for a family saga of seven books by Lucinda Riley. In 2013 inspiration came as she gazed upon the Pleiades star cluster and pondered the mythology surrounding 'The Seven Sisters' throughout the centuries in all types of cultures. This star cluster can be seen with the human eye from any country and the sisters play a role in the mythology of ancient Greeks, Native Americans, Aboriginal, Japanese and Hindu peoples.

Mythology, history, astronomy
Atlas- The father of the Pleiades

This series is a contemporary fairy tale where 'Once upon a time...' has been replaced by 'I will always remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard that my father had died'. So begins each book, we are then taken on a journey through time and to exotic locations as each 'sister' seeks the truth of her heritage. This saga is multi-faceted with many layers in each stand alone story that also links to the other books.

Each book is about one of six sisters adopted in infancy by the impossibly rich 'Pa Salt' who on his death has left them each some coordinates, a letter, an enigmatic Greek quote and a mysterious item. These clues set each sister on the path of self-discovery and true destiny.

The first three books in the series

The 'sisters' are named after the stars of the Pleiades cluster in order of age Maia, Ally (Alcyone), Star (Asterope), Ce-Ce (Celaeno), Tiggy (Taygete) and Electra D'Apliese. Lucinda Riley has given each girl attributes that link to the Greek mythology surrounding the Pleiades. The girls are fantastically beautiful and multi-talented and all have benefited from a privileged upbringing but the usual sibling rivalries and modern family dynamics are present.

Three books have been released thus far and each is an engrossing story full of mystery, romance and historical facts. The writing is very descriptive and one gets a true sense of place, be it the shores of Lake Geneva, the streets of Paris or the favelas of Rio. I for one had trouble putting the books down and was inspired to research deeper into the historical facts alluded to in some of the stories. There is a depth of emotion in the writing as well and I was brought to tears in some of the passages relating to grief and loss.

The Pearl Sister is due for release in November 2017 and I am eagerly anticipated discovering more about this fabulous fictional family.
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  12
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? You love to get lost in a great story.
When: When you have some free time.
Cost: Free if you borrow from a friend or a library.
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles