The Friends of ANZAC Cottage will be holding a Remembrance Day Sunset Service, the last service to be held on the Australian mainland, to commemorate the Centenary of Armistice on Sunday, November 11, 2018 commencing at 5:00pm. All are welcome to attend this special ceremony at 'the going down of the sun' commemorating the cessation of hostilities in World War 1.
Armistice Centenary Commemorations and Open House Perth
The commemoration service is complemented by the 'Field of Remembrance', a display of crosses dedicated to those who gave their lives. The crosses, constructed by the Vincent Men's Shed and inscribed by family and community members, allow those present at the ceremony to honour and respect all who served.
Moreover, this occasion is often regarded as an opportunity to commemorate those who are buried overseas. Hence, an open invitation to anyone attending the ceremony, to place a poppy in remembrance, respect and honour of those who have fallen in any of the conflicts in which this nation has taken part.
Consequently, visitors to the Cottage are welcome to add to this display using the crosses supplied by the Friends of ANZAC Cottage.
The Memorial Men
Members of the Western Australian Great War Living History Association standing vigil during the Remembrance Day service in 2016.
In the process of researching the history of ANZAC Cottage, the Friends of ANZAC Cottage discovered that fifteen of the men who helped to construct the building enlisted in the AIF (Australian Imperial Forces) on completion of the Cottage in 1916 and went overseas to fight for their country. Whilst some survived, some were not so fortunate and it is poignant to note that they built their own memorial. Thus, a temporary exhibition, The Memorial Men, will tell the stories of these men.
The ANZAC Flag
The unique ANZAC Flag atop flagpole with an interesting history.
The ANZAC Flag dates from 1916, when the flag was raised at 5:00pm on February 12, 1916; the day that ANZAC Cottage was constructed. It seems that this flag is unique, in that additions and alterations to the flag are illegal; being fashioned before this law was passed. Interestingly, the flagpole has its own story, commemorating a young soldier who gave his life at Gallipoli, adding special significance to the ceremony and the commemoration.
The memorial stone erected in the front yard of ANZAC Cottage dedicated to Private John Porter, the original recipient of ANZAC Cottage.
The recipient of the Cottage, Private John Porter, raised the iconic ANZAC flag on ANZAC Day in 1916, 1917 and 1918. He also raised the flag for the first time on November 11, to mark the Armistice in 1918, one hundred years ago. Private Porter continued this practice until his death in 1964.
Entry is free with morning and afternoon tea available for a gold coin donation.
All are welcome to attend this important event, and access more information about ANZAC Cottage, by emailing email@example.com, or calling Anne on 041144 55 82. Check updates on their Facebook page,new website and while you are at it, take a look here.
Images are courtesy of the Friends of ANZAC Cottage collection and from the booklet, 'ANZAC Cottage: Souvenir of the Monument Erected at Mt Hawthorn 1916'. Artwork is by John F.