Tucked away on a section of Dayboro Road in Kurwongbah is a magical place that will transport you back to a much similar time. Old Petrie Town, in the North Pine Country Park a short drive from inner Brisbane, serves as a reincarnation of the surrounding area from decades ago.
Historical buildings take residence, and offer educational tours of their unique and rich histories. The Foreman's Cottage where James Foreman and his family migrated from England in 1866. Building the cottage in 1876 to replace the original slab hut that he had erected near some baby fig trees that can now be seen towering over the site.
In 1917 the Hyde family moved the cottage to the top of the nearby ridge and added a new section on the front - thus Foreman Cottage became the kitchen of Hyde Homestead. The Hyde brothers used to say they were the Shire's first conservationists as they relocated their cottage rather than chop down the expanding fig trees.
McKenzie's Store was built in the 1920's and has been used throughout the course of history to sell veterinary and farm supplies. It was relocated to Old Petrie Town in 1984.
The replica building of the old bank was constructed as part of the National Bank of Australia's Bicentennial Celebrations. The original establishment opened in 1886, however the depression of the early 1890's forced it to close its doors after only five years of trading.
This Church was originally located in Station Street, Lawnton on land donated by Stephen Lawn. Local identity, James Todd, was given the job of building the Church for the contract sum of 130 pounds ($260). The Church was commenced on August 25, 1888 and opened on St. Thomas' Day December 21, 1888.
Another richly historical area is Emily Hyde Place which was established in 1983 in memory of the mother of the last family to farm this property. She lived here for over fifty years and passed away in 1963 at the age of 92.
Along with these, there is Piggotts Store which served as a bakery and grocery store, as well as The Town Common - where three time capsules were buried in 1988 to be opened on Australia Day in the years 2013, 2038 and 2088, the School Playshed, the Courthouse and the Bakehouse.
Old Petrie Town has also been blessed with a replica Rum Distillery and the local Potters have added an interesting sundial near their building on the ringroad at Old Petrie Town showing the history of the local areal in the form of murals placed around the sundial.
Although open to the public all the time, there are regular special events held at the park. Twilight In The Village is held every Friday night from 5.00pm - 9.00pm while the Saturday Farmers Markets run from 7:00am and the Sunday Country Markets operate weekly also, from 8:00am - 2:00pm.
Speciality shops, open during regular business hours, include a apothecary, museum, a photography studio, natropath clinic and a large variety of knick knack and jewellery stores.
Big hits with visitors are the old Railway Station, doubling as a souvenirs store, the wood fired bakery which gives you a step-by-step demonstration on how to make bread in a genuine wood fired oven and a Rock 'N' Roll Emporium, which includes a 50's style cafe for those eager to relive a great time in history.
Trishalan Designs offers personalised, rustic timber homewares, exclusive hand-dyed threads, unique needlework crafts. There is even tuition available for those eager enough to learn the wonderful artistry.
Finally, and only one of many of the gems found at this hidden world, Tom Petrie's Restaurant and Bar, a replica of the Old North Pine Hotel (circa 1880) is fully refurbished using Red Cedar timber and features live jazz every Sunday, a function room fit for a grand wedding or private or corporate events and a fully licensed restaurant.
So give yourself a real escape back into history and visit Old Petrie Town for a taste of what life was like in a simpler time.