The 27.5 metre high (90ft) concrete tower celebrated its Centenary in November 2003, apart from the electrification of the light, only a few changes were made to the Lighthouse since its establishment. There is a Flag Locker, Head Keepers Quarters and the first and second assistant Lightkeeper's Quarters as well as Stables which are all located near the Lighthouse.
The Lighthouse is the last of the James Barnet style to be built as well as the last staffed lighthouse to be constructed in New South Wales. James Barnet also designed Cape Byron Light and Point Perpendicular Light.
Its official opening was in 1903 and featured the original vaporized kerosene burner which was upgraded in 1923, electrified in 1961 and automated and demanned in 1994 after being staffed for 90 years.
Stunning coastal views can be seen from Norah Head Lighthouse
There are guided Lighthouse Tours available from 10am to 1:30pm daily. The guided tour offer opportunities to explore inside the Lighthouse as well as experiencing spectacular views from the top of the Lighthouse.
Inside the tower, 96 steps lead to the gallery in four stages, with the lantern room located atop of the gallery. The first floor comprises of an entrance hallway and two rooms. The hallway still houses the original desk for the visitor's book!