Mooncakes - Book Review

Mooncakes - Book Review

Post
Subscribe

Posted 2023-12-09 by Jennifer Muirheadfollow


Nova Huang is a teenage witch. Since her parents died she has been living with her grandmothers and learning magic from them while working in the family book shop, Black Cat Books. When Nova investigates some strange happenings in the woods near her home, she finds Tam, her childhood friend, who happens to be a werewolf. Nova and Tam start to explore the now deeper feelings they have for each other while trying to work out what to do about the demon that has shown up in their backyard.



Mooncakes is a sweet story about love, family, and witchcraft, with a whole lot of diversity among the cast of characters. Nova is Chinese American and hard of hearing. She wears hearing aids, which she even manages to incorporate into a spell at one point. Tam uses "they/them" pronouns, which everyone in the book respects. Nova's two grandmothers are in a relationship, which is also treated as no big deal.



The art, by Suzanne Walker, is gorgeous. I love the design of the characters, the use of colour and the adorable spirit animals. The review copy I was given wasn't quite finished (the last issue was still just line drawings), but apparently the finished version will be in full colour with back matter and bonus material included, which makes me want to shell out for a physical copy.



The romance between Nova and Tam is beautiful, as they help each other work through their respective family issues and I loved the support network Nova had with her grandmothers at her back, and even her ghostly parents visiting for holidays.



Mooncakes is a magical love story, which will probably appeal to fans of Lumberjanes or Moonstruck . It's a very quick read, and I'm really hoping for a sequel. I want more!

Disclaimer: I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Lion Forge, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Published: October 15, 2019

Dear reader, please pardon the odd formatting mistakes that have occurred in many articles as they were migrated to a new platform. I am fixing them as quickly as I can.


#romantic
#lgbtiq
#comics
#book_reviews
#arts_culture
%wneverywhere
85582 - 2023-06-11 07:11:21

Tags

Music
Free
Arts_culture
Film_tv_reviews
Random
Outdoor
Family_friendly
Nightlife
Community
Festivals
Food_drink
Fundraisers
Educational
Theatre_shows
Holiday
Copyright 2024 OatLabs ABN 18113479226