Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Mooncakes - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Romantic | Gay & Lesbian | Comics | Books and Writing | Book Reviews
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published October 24th 2019
Love and monsters
Mooncakes, comics, graphic novel, books about witches, cute comics


Nova Huang is a teenage witch. Since her parents died she has been living with her grandmothers and learning magic from them while working in the family book shop, Black Cat Books. When Nova investigates some strange happenings in the woods near her home, she finds Tam, her childhood friend, who happens to be a werewolf. Nova and Tam start to explore the now deeper feelings they have for each other while trying to work out what to do about the demon which has shown up in their backyard.

Mooncakes, comics, graphic novel, witches, books about witches, LGBT comics


Mooncakes
is a sweet story about love, family, and witchcraft, with a whole lot of diversity among the cast of characters. Nova is Chinese American and hard of hearing. She wears hearing aids, which she even manages to incorporate into a spell at one point. Tam uses "they/them" pronouns, which everyone in the book respects. Nova's two grandmothers are in a relationship, which is also treated as no big deal.

Mooncakes, grandmothers, comics, lesbian, comics about lesbians, lesbian comics
Nova's grandmothers.


The art, by Suzanne Walker, is gorgeous. I love the design of the characters, the use of colour and the adorable spirit animals. The review copy I was given wasn't quite finished (the last issue was still just line drawings), but apparently the finished version will be in full colour with back matter and bonus material included, which makes me want to shell out for a physical copy.

adorable magical creatures, spirit animals, magic, comics, comics about magic, Mooncakes
Spirit critters!


The romance between Nova and Tam is beautiful, as they help each other work through their respective family issues and I loved the support network Nova had with her grandmothers at her back, and even her ghostly parents visiting for holidays.



Mooncakes
is a magical love story, which will probably appeal to fans of Lumberjanes or Moonstruck. It's a very quick read, and I'm really hoping for a sequel. I want more!


Disclaimer: I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Lion Forge, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Published:
October 15, 2019
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  13
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions