Mawson Park may not be the largest park in Campbelltown, but it is certainly the oldest. Located on Queen Street, Mawson Park has been around since Campbelltown itself was founded. In fact, Campbelltown was given its name by Governor Macquarie in the park in 1820.
There is no doubt that the park has a redoubtable history: from the commemorative plaque laid down to mark the naming of the suburb to the demonstrations on incendiary bombs and fire-fighting during World War Two.
But, it is the relationship that Mawson Park enjoys with law and order that is most striking for anyone with an interest in the local history of Campbelltown. While in the nineteenth century, the park was surrounded by a church and some inns, the park saw bushrangers hanged on gallows erected in the Park.
To this day, the Mawson Park milestone, which reads "XXXIII Sydney" (33 miles to Sydney) can be admired by visitors. This milestone measures the distance from the Park to the Macquarie Place obelisk that was erected in 1818.
Mawson Park's rich history is also commemorated by the War Memorial that was established in 1991. This Memorial commemorates the soldiers who perished in seven military campaigns from the Boer War to Vietnam.
The name "Mawson Park" was not formally established until January 1938, when locals sought to honour Dr William Mawson, who provided medical services to the local area and even founded a hospital.
Today, Mawson Park stands not only as a tribute to the past, but also as an attractive outdoor space for visitors and locals alike. While it still serves an important function in celebrating significant martial events, such as ANZAC Day and Memorial Day, it is also a popular location for weddings.