Under fifty minutes drive from the feast of historic streetscapes and spectacular scenery of Launceston and less than five kilometres from Australia's third-oldest settlement George Town, the picturesque Low Head Pilot Station awaits to be discovered.
Established in 1805, Low Head Pilot Station is the oldest pilot station in Australia, as well as containing the oldest buildings of a pilot station in the country. It is also the oldest Pilot and Signal Station in Australia that has run continuously since 1833!
Low Head Pilot Station offers an array of spectacular views
Be in awe with the diverse range of the 19th-century buildings that overlook the Bass Strait, making this quaint precinct a haven of tranquillity and serenity, surrounded by pristine beaches and breathtakingly magnificent views.
Low Head Pilot Station makes the perfect day trip!
The Station was established in response to the hazardous nature of navigating through the Tamar River and has been developed over a period of 170-years and includes buildings, lighthouse, various residential quarters, fog horn building, former stables, workshops, a meteorological recording station and garages.
Low Head Pilot Station also comprises a number of other buildings including the Pilot's Row building, Master Warden's Cottage, School House, Workshop and Boatshed, four Boat Crew Cottages and the Coxswain's Cottage which are all laid out in a rough semi circle around a central grassed area in the picturesque marina precinct.
This site was gazetted as a Historic Site, making it a perfect attraction for history buffs. There is plenty to see, do and experience, making Low Head Pilot Station a great stop for all ages and interests, from exploring the waters, experiencing the hands-on museum, grabbing a bite to eat to discovering historical facts at the sculptors and plaques across the site.
What makes this point of interest attraction even more spectacular and unique is that Low Head is associated with the earliest phases of European exploration and settlement in Northern Tasmania. The first recorded Europeans to enter the Tamar River were Bass and Flinders in 1798!
Through the years, it has played a fundamental role in the navigation of shipping in the Tamar River and the first navigational beacons were positioned in the channels at the mouth of the Tamar and flagstaff was erected on the headland at Low Head. Soon afterwards, a pilotage service was established for ships entering the heads.
Throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, the strategic role of Low Head in guiding shipping in the Tamar continued and extensive network of buildings and structures relating to navigation and communications was developed on and near the peninsula. This included the Pilot Station complexes, which can be seen today across the site.
There are nine newly renovated self-contained cottages to escape and relax in which are perfect for the whole family, a romantic getaway or a group getaway. There are one, three or four bedroom cottage options; each containing kitchens, private bathrooms, living areas and stunning views across the Bass Strait. The Light Keepers Cottage and The Queenslander offers a spectacular outlook to the Tamar River and ocean.
The Museum occupies the 1835 convict-built Pilot's Row, the oldest and largest building on the site. It tells stories of shipping on the Tamar River, as well as having an extensive display of relics from the days of sail and steam, so be sure to check out the Low Head Pilot Marine Museum!