Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

The Keeping Place - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Literary | Books and Writing
by Chrystal Byrne (subscribe)
Freelance writer living on Brisbane's north side. Studied creative industries - currently studying library and information services.
Published August 19th 2012
The Obernewtyn Chronicles
Book 4: The Keeping Place

After Rushton is kidnapped, the Misfits of Obernewtyn are forced into a shaky alliance with the Rebels. Who kidnapped Rushton, and to what end? The Misfits believe a rebel must have kidnapped their master, but are they correct? The rebellion proceeds without Rushton, with Elspeth Gordie taking Rushton's place as Master of Obernewtyn.

The Keeping Place
The Keeping Place - Isobelle Carmody

As Rushton is her love interest, Elspeth feels challenged in the role as temporary Master of Obernewtyn, and as her mind is being increasingly drawn onto the Dreamtrails for the purpose of her life-quest, Elspeth feels torn between her growing responsibilities.

Elspeth and the Misfits of Obernewtyn send out people from among their ranks to nest with each of the rebel bands in preparation of the Rebellion. Malik, a rebel whom has long made his dislike of the Misfits known, requests a particular team of them to act as decoys to a plan of his. This ends in treachery with many of the Misfits killed or injured. It is then a race of time for Elspeth to make Malik's treachery known to the others and step up the search for her beloved Rushton.

The Keeping Place
The Keeping Place - First Edition Penguin Cover

The Keeping Place is book four in a seven-book-long series by Australian author Isobelle Carmody. The Keeping Place was originally published in 1999 and has been published by Viking Books and Penguin. Isobelle Carmody began writing the Obernewtyn series when she was just fourteen-years-old and the books have become her most celebrated to date.

The books in the series are as follows:
Obernewtyn (1987)
The Farseekers (1990)
Ashling (1995)
The Keeping Place (1999)
The Stone Key (2008)
The Sending (2011)
The Red Queen (predicted to be 2013)
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  8
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Because you want a new book to read.
When: Now.
Cost: From $9.95 on QBD online
Your Comment
More Everywhere articles
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles