Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

It's Not You, It's Him - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Romantic | Fashion | Books and Writing | Book Reviews
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published February 10th 2020
She's not going down without a fight
It's Not You It's Him, Sophie Ranald, romance, romance novel, rom com, chick lit, The Daily Grind, contemporary romance


When the handsome, wealthy, Renzo told his girlfriend, Tansy, that he loved her, Tansy confessed a secret she'd been hoping no-one would ever find out. With good reason, as it turned out, since Renzo responded by calling her every name under the sun and dumping her. Now Tansy's New Year's Resolution is to win Renzo back. When her high school crush, Josh, comes over from Australia to rent a room in her flat, Tansy hatches a plan to make her ex jealous.

Meanwhile, Tansy's mum is desperate for cash because of her husband's gambling addiction. This makes it all the more important that Tansy hangs on to her job as a fashion buyer, despite her boss making everyone in the company miserable with his constant snide remarks and body shaming. An opportunity arises to help a very talented young woman make her way in the world of fashion if Tansy can just get through to the next payday without another disaster.

It's Not You, It's Him
is one of a loosely grouped series of novels connected by events at the Daily Grind coffee house. It's set in the world of fashion, but in a more down to earth way than The Devil Wears Prada.

In case it's an issue for some readers, be warned that this book does feature gambling addiction and eating disorders.

One of the things I look for in a romance is the opportunity for a little vicarious outrage. I'm happy when a book has me muttering "oh no, he didn't!" This book definitely delivers on that score. As the title suggests, it's not her, it's Renzo who is the problem. As well as outrage, the book delivers laughs, a sweet romance and an eventual happy ending. There's also a feline character who features pretty heavily, inspired by the author's own rescued stray, Hither.

It's Not You, It's Him
is a fun romantic comedy, which will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella or Jo Watson. If you like this one you'll probably enjoy Out With the Ex, In With the New, which features a couple of the characters from this book (Luke and Hannah).


Disclaimer: I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Bookouture, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Published:
2019
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  13
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions