Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Deserve to Die - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Fun Things To Do | Misc | Rainy Day
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt
Published February 2nd 2021
Revenge on a schedule
Deserve to Die, Miranda Rijks, psychological thriller, British thriller, British crime novel, murder mystery, fiction


Stacey has a good life, happily married to her husband Dom, with two children, and a career as a children's book author just starting to take off. Then along comes Tamara, a woman with a mysterious past who finds her way first into Dom's business, then into their personal lives. Stacey starts misplacing and forgetting things and her whole life begins to unravel.

Deserve to Die
is another psychological thriller by Miranda Rijks, the author of The Visitors and Roses are Red. The story is told an interesting way, with the reader knowing from the start who the killer is, but not knowing why they are doing what they are doing. Waiting to find out Tamara's motive kept me turning the pages right to the end.

There is plenty of moral outrage to be had while reading this one, if you like that sort of thing. Strangely, I found myself probably even angrier about Tamara's judgy comments about other people's homes and personal lives than I was about the murders. And then there is Stacey's husband, who I thought was awfully quick to stop trusting his wife as soon as something went wrong.

The ending was surprising because the author avoided the expected cliché, but what we get instead is a bit... meh. It just lacked punch. Overall, Deserve to Die is a gripping thriller that will appeal to fans of K.L. Slater or Sue Watson.



Disclaimer:
I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Inkubator Books, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Deserve to Die is included in a three book collection, the Psychological Thriller Box Set, published on January 21, 2021.
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  16
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions