Built in 1847, Como House in South Yarra is an amalgamation of Australian Regency and Italianate architecture styles. The opulent property features two hectares of sprawling lush gardens, a fountain and even a croquet lawn.
The property was owned by the Armytage family for generations, with the daughters of the family handing it to the National Trust in 1959. Since then, the Colonial mansion has been open to public visitors. Como House is imbued with the legacy of the Armytage family, and still features much of their original furniture.
A quaint café, Café Bursaria, located near the reception area is open daily from 10:00am to 4:00pm. The fare available is reminiscent of the tea and cakes that Como House's colonial residents might have enjoyed in bygone days.
Visitors are welcome to picnic in the lavish gardens, with the most popular spot being under the Moreton Bay fig tree. With seasonal flowers always in bloom, there are many other picturesque areas outside the mansion in which to relax.
Guided tours of the property occur every hour from 10am to 5pm, with the price of a tour being included in the admission fare of $6.50 child, $9 concession or $12 adult. Admission to the garden only costs between $2 and $5.
Weddings and functions can be held at Como House, with private bookings available for the ballroom, pavilion and gardens.
On occasion, events such as exhibitions are held at Como House. Pay a visit to their website to see what's currently on.
Located about a fifteen minute stroll from Hawksburn and South Yarra Railway Stations, and in an area serviced by the number 8 tram, Como House is easily accessible by public transport.