Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Chimera Book One: The Righteous and the Lost - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Misc | Gay & Lesbian | Comics | Books and Writing | Book Reviews
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt www.femlitica.com jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published August 12th 2018
Thrills, spills, giant locusts
Chimera, comics, Saga, science fiction comics, sci fi comics, Star Wars, aliens

"There's a brother that's balls deep in killer robots and a sister who's the lap dog of God himself. Who do you wanna rescue first?"

In the middle of an interstellar Holy War, a gang of thieves, of different backgrounds and species, are hired to steal a valuable artefact from a dragon creature who calls himself a god.

There is Russell, what you'd get if Mal Reynolds was a three-eyed anthropomorphic jackal with telekinetic powers, and Alice, former champion of the One God. Then there is Alice's brother Charlie, once a mechanic for the Resistance Coalition, who abandoned his post for love, and Wex, a reptile, former monk and translator. The four are caught between the Zodiacal conclave and the Resistance Coalition, both of which want to take over the universe. Meanwhile, the One God has a prisoner locked beneath his palace who has begun to whisper treasonous secrets to a priestess named Cassandra.

There is a lot to like about Chimera; a great story, beautiful art, and refreshingly, a major female character who just looks like a normal person, without exaggerated lips or eyes or a costume that shows off her boobs and bum. There's also a positive portrayal of a gay character, though his sexuality isn't important to the story.

The art is reminiscent of Saga, with such bizarre looking aliens, and the writing has shades of both Star Wars and Firefly. It's definitely not for kids, containing as it does some strong language and violence.

Chimera
is a cracking read that reminded me what I like about comics. It will appeal to fans of Saga and Firefly.

Disclaimer: I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Comicker Press, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Published: June 20, 2018
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  12
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions