Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
1 million Australian readers every month      list your event

Canberra Roller Derby League 2019 Season

Home > Canberra > Family | Fun for Children | Indoor | Sport | Unusual Events
by Belladonna (subscribe)
Loves going out and about, drinking coffee, eating chocolate, and writing about her adventures!
Event: -
Catch all the fast and furious action from top skaters
Strap on your skates, Canberra! The Canberra Roller Derby League competition returns for 2019.
Canberra Roller Derby League 2019 Season

Brace yourselves for all the thrills and spills, smashes and crashes as our city's top roller derby skaters battle it out at Southern Cross Stadium, Tuggeranong for another cracking season.

What is roller derby?
Basically, roller derby is a full-on contact sport that involves two teams of five players each skating around in a counter-clockwise direction on a track. A roller derby game, also known as a bout, consists of a series of short mash-ups called 'jams'. Each team appoints a 'jammer' (the player with a star on their helmet) and it's the job of the jammer to lap the members of the other team during a jam. A team tries to stop the jammers of the opposing team while also helping their own jammers get through.

Roller derby began in Chicago, USA in 1935 and is now one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Women make up the bulk of the sport, though there are also male, unisex and junior teams.
Canberra Roller Derby League 2019 Season

The Canberra Roller Derby League
The Canberra Roller Derby League is Canberra's premier flat-track roller derby league. Established in 2008, the homegrown league consists of four teams: the Black N Blue Belles, the Surly Griffins, the Red Bellied Black Hearts and the Brindabelters. In addition, a group of the best skaters are chosen to represent Canberra in the national league. The national Canberra team is known as the Vice City Rollers.

There are over 100 skaters in the Canberra Roller Derby League, with some of the cheekiest and sassiest names around, such as Rubi Doom, Freudian Slit, Blinky Kill, Cerebral Brawlsey, Cinderoller, Serial Keller, Deadly Long Legs, and Bellistic.
Canberra Roller Derby League 2019 Season

2019 Season
Canberra Roller Derby League bouts are held at the Southern Cross Stadium, Tuggeranong. Doors opens at 6pm, with a 6.30pm start. Tickets cost $15 adults, $7.50 child (children aged under 5 are free), and $30 for Family (2 adults, 2 kids).

Game 2 (Black N Blue Belles Vs Brindabelters) will take place on May 11, 2019. Tickets for this game are now available herevia Moshtix. Game 3 will take place on Jun 15, 2019; Game 4 on Jul 27; Game 5 on Sep 14; Game 6 on Oct 19, 2019, and the Finals on Nov 30. Please check for updates on these upcoming games via the Canberra Roller Derby League website here or via their Facebook page.

Canberra Roller Derby League nights are fun, electrifying nights out for the whole family. They include live entertainment, food and drinks available for purchase, a souvenir stall so you can show your support for your favourite team, and a kids' corner for the little ones who may feel just a little overwhelmed by all the action. If you're intrigued and keen to learn more about roller derby, then grab your tickets and get ready for a huge night of thrills and spills!

Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  10
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Enjoy a cracking night of thrills and spills for the whole family
When: From May 11-November 30, 2019
Where: Southern Cross Stadium, Tuggeranong
Cost: $15 adult, $7.50 child. Children under 5 are free. Family ticket $30 for two adults and two children
Your Comment
Top Events
Popular Articles