Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
list an event      1 million Australian readers every month      facebook

Brisbane Library - Free Audiobooks

Home > Brisbane > Libraries | Literary
by Marina Marangos (subscribe)
http://www.mezzemoments.blogspot.com
Published April 26th 2020
Now listen up
Kitty Flanagan
Kitty Flanagan


Now if you are a fan of the great Kitty Flanagan, this might be just the activity for you - or to be more accurate- the inactivity. You do nothing but turn on your ear pods and listen in to the hilarious Kitty as she tells us some of her 488 Rules of Life. Kitty is part of a group of audiobooks that Brisbane Library is making available to us all. You don't even have to be a member. So if you are getting a little bored and want a real pick me up, read on.

Brisbane Library has a great collection of audiobooks. They have shared a list of ten, all available for free, from their digital library collection.

Perfect for the movers and multi-taskers amongst us, 41,673 audiobooks are waiting for you in Brisbane City Council's library catalogue. To get started, you'll need to download BorrowBox, RBDigital or Overdrive to your device - the apps their eBooks can be read on.

So get ready for a little celebrity company on your daily stroll (for one or two), as you cosy up on the couch, or while you tackle a seasonal household cleanout or a mound of ironing, which is how I like to listen to mine.

Here's your list of ten free ones :
British personality Stephen Fry brings the world of Hogwarts to life reading J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone.

You'll feel like the Obamas never left us hearing Michelle read her memoir, Becoming.

It only seems right that a fellow Southern-gal, Reese Witherspoon, would be the vocal match for Harper Lee's, Go Set a Watchman - the book now considered to be the first draft for To Kill a Mockingbird.

Fans of BBC's Sherlock or Lord of the Rings will recognise Martin Freeman's voice reading the words of Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything.

Master storyteller, Neil Gaiman, takes his skills from the page to the airwaves narrating his acclaimed book, Norse Mythology.

The only person who could do justice to her 488 Rules for Life is Kitty Flanagan herself. Listen to her droll wit with this audiobook about how to make our lives a little more pleasant.

The Queen of Vulnerability herself is the balm we all need right now. Brene Brown inspires us as she reads her latest book, Dare to Lead.

You might know her from the 7:30 Report or her podcast with Annabel Crabb, but Leigh Sales also reads her book, Any Ordinary Day, which explores what comes following a traumatic interruption to everyday life.

Hear the tale of the Working Class Man from the man himself as Jimmy Barnes reads his tale of triumph.

Hear the funny lady, Mindy Kaling, read her tome, Why Not Me?, and learn why the question became her life mantra.

If you don't have a library membership, no worries! Sign up for a Temporary Digital membership and explore more than 150,000 online resources, including magazine and newspaper titles in more than 60 languages - all available 24/7 and helping bring the library to your living room.

You won't regret delving into this little treasure store. Michelle Obama's booking Becoming Michelle Obama was one I savoured, but I read it. A friend, however, listened to it as an audiobook and of course, Michelle has recorded the whole book in her voice. It is beautifully recited and she has quite a story to tell.

And that is just two of my favourites. I am sure you will find yours.

Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  31
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Free audiobooks
Where: You can listen at home.
Cost: Free
Your Comment
Featured
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions