Bridge Street, Kensington
Experience More - Subscribe to Our Weekly Events Newsletter
The streets of Kensington were laid out diagonally with Bridge Street being where you'd cross over Second Creek. Floods had washed away two earlier wooden bridges before this current bridge was built of brick vault construction in 1858. It was built by public subscription for 96 pounds and served as a major link for local residents.
Along the street are a number of historical buildings. The most notable would be the Rising Sun Inn
opened by William Beck in 1846. Originally used as an inn, the building was later sold to Sir Edwin T Smith for residential use and subsequently R P Tilbrook who converted it into a motorcycle factory. After laying derelict for ten or so years, the building was restored and now operates as a boutique restaurant and bar.
Across the street from the inn was Samuel Heanes's humble boot shop where he made boots and remained active in the trade into his latter years. The shop was then maintained by his son and grandson until 1981 when trading closed after more than 130 years. Today, this dynamic designer home boasts four bedrooms and three bathrooms on the tranquil banks of Second Creek.
Lastly, the hall of St Matthews Homes
is also worth a mention. It was previously a two-roomed school erected in 1891 during the time of Rev W A Swan. St Matthew's Anglican Church
later used the building for Sunday School, youth groups and church activities before selling it to the charitable organisation.
Bridge Street is located in the suburb of Kensington approximately five kilometres east of Adelaide city.
124023 - 2023-06-13 01:22:24
Copyright 2022 OatLabs ABN 18113479226