Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Book Learnin': A Pie Comics Collection - Book Review

Home > Everywhere > Book Reviews | Books and Writing | Comics
by Jennifer Muirhead (subscribe)
I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. ~ Eartha Kitt www.femlitica.com jennifermuirhead.wordpress.com/
Published February 9th 2019
Book Learnin, Pie Comics, comics, John McNamee, the Onion, quirky comics, books


Book Learnin' is the second collection of comics by John McNamee (the first being Goldilocks and the Infinite Bears). These quirky comics were previously published in The Onion and The New Yorker. They are grouped around the broad theme of knowledge- how we come by it and how we use it, for good or for ill.

book learnin, pie comics, John McNamee, art, is it art?


It is supremely geeky, with jokes about art, science, fashion, economics, history and linguistics, drawn in a simple style with stick figures. The humour is sometimes a little dark, and frequently odd, and it made me laugh out loud a few times.

fashion, book learnin, John McNamee, Pie Comics


Book Learnin' is a fun, quirky comic that will probably appeal to fans of The Oatmeal or Heart and Brain.


Disclaimer:
I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Diamond Book Distributors, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Published:
March 19, 2019
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  12
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Your Comment
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions