Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
list an event      1 million Australian readers every month      facebook

Ashling - Book Review

Home > Sydney > Books and Writing | Book Reviews | Literary
by Chrystal Byrne (subscribe)
Freelance writer living on Brisbane's north side. Studied creative industries - currently studying library and information services.
Published July 28th 2012
Book 3 in the Obernewtyn Chronicles
The Obernewtyn Chronicles
Book 3: Ashling

Elspeth Gordie and the Misfit community want to seal an alliance with the rebel forces of the land, and they want it bad enough that they're travelling to the desert lands of Sador to fight for it.

The Rebellion is looming, and the Misfits want a place in the land when the Council is overthrown – but the Rebels are divided. Some, like the Council, believe the Misfits to be unnatural and inhuman, and do not want their allegiance. Elspeth, whilst in Sutrium, agrees to the Rebels' challenge – beat their men at the Sadorian Battle Games and the allegiance is won.

Ashling: second edition Penguin cover

In amongst the Misfits' fight for true independence, Elspeth must deal with her increasingly powerful feelings for the Leader of Obernewtyn: Rushton, the livelihood of her friends Dragon and Matthew, the whereabouts of the uncommunicative spy Domick, the terror of the slaver Salamander, the stories of the gypsies and the destructiveness of the defective Misfit Ariel. Ashling also sees Elspeth begin actively searching for answers to her own quest beyond the safe confines of Obernewtyn.

Ashling cover art

"Elspeth must destroy what remains of the weapons that brought unimaginable chaos, death, and mutation to her world" (Isobelle Carmody 1995, Ashling).

Ashling is book three in a seven-book-long series by Australian author Isobelle Carmody. Ashling was originally published in 1995 by Viking Books. Isobelle Carmody began writing the Obernewtyn series when she was just fourteen-years-old and the books have become her most celebrated to date.

The books in the series are as follows:
Obernewtyn (1987)
The Farseekers (1990)
Ashling (1995)
The Keeping Place (1999)
The Stone Key (2008)
The Sending (2011)
The Red Queen (predicted to be 2013)
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  9
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Because you want a new book to read.
When: Now.
Where: In the comfort of your own home.
Cost: From $9.95 on QBD online
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles