ANZAC Cottage, at 38 Kalgoorlie Street, Mt Hawthorn, built in one day on February 12, 1916, a war memorial to honour the soldiers who gave their lives at the Gallipoli landing and as a home for a returned wounded soldier.
The construction of the Cottage broadcast nationwide through the print media leading to a number of 'copycat' projects in Western Australia and in other states across the nation.
A community project
In commemoration of ANZAC, Lady Barron setting the Memorial tablet at ANZAC Cottage in 1916.
The community contributed money, labour, trade skills, furniture and supported the ambitious project with food for the workers; making this venture a true 'grass roots' project, initiated and implemented by the community.
The builders came from all walks-of-life, with one common goal, to build ANZAC Cottage in one day.
Though there are many grand memorials to the fallen, this unique community effort personalised the connection between those who returned, those who did not and those who kept the home fires burning.
Experience living history as you explore this historic little Cottage, hearing its story and having a 'cuppa'. Take time to appreciate this home built 100 years ago for a returned soldier, and its relevance to today will become apparent.
Beautifully restored living memorial
The Friends of ANZAC Cottage maintain the community spirit.
Still standing proudly today, this historic Cottage is open to the public on the first Sunday of each month and for special occasions, such as the celebration of the Cottage's construction. Furthermore, given the Cottage's distinctive beginnings, military commemorations also merit special remembrances, with a Sunset Service on ANZAC Day (the last on the Australian mainland) and a special service for Remembrance Day.
Owned by the City of Vincent with Friends of ANZAC Cottage maintaining a personal connection to the community, ANZAC Cottage is now set up as a museum and open by appointment for group and school visits. The Cottage is on the City's Municipal Heritage Inventory, State Heritage listed in 2000, recognised on the Register of the National Estate and classified by the National Trust.
ANZAC Cottage, open to the public on the first Sunday of each month from 1.00pm to 4.00pm, offers free entry and afternoon tea for a gold coin donation. Ann Chapple, granddaughter of John Porter, the original recipient of the Cottage accordingly brings a personal touch to the afternoon with a tour and talk on some aspect of the Cottage's history and its relevance to the community. All are welcome to attend and learn more about its unique history and the people involved.
To find out more about the Cottage or events, please contact Anne Chapple by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 0411 44 55 82 and check out their Facebook page for the latest information.
Photos courtesy of Friends of ANZAC Cottage unless otherwise noted. Historical photos taken from the booklet: 'ANZAC Cottage Souvenir of the Monument Erected at Mt Hawthorn 1916'(only available from ANZAC Cottage). Artwork by John F.