Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations

Above & Beyond: 'Common Ground' - Album Review

Home > Everywhere > Music | Performing Arts
by Emma Jane Explores (Emma Caldwell) (subscribe)
I'm a freelance actor, travel writer, photographer, foodie and attention seeker living in the lower North Shore. Check out my blog at for more.
Published January 21st 2018
The perfect summer sountrack
English dance music mavericks Above & Beyond are back with a new album full of summer vibes and catchy hooks. Common Ground is the name of the album and it features some familiar faces lending their voices to these tracks including Zoe Johnston and Richard Bedford.
music, dance music, electronic, above and beyond, record review
Common Ground

This is Above & Beyond's fourth electronic studio album, following up their hugely successful Grammy nominated 2015 record We Are All We Need and it doesn't disappoint. Common Ground could easily be a road trip record to keep you singing in the car as much as it could be the soundtrack to your summer nights out. It's that versatile.

music, dance music, electronic, above and beyond, record review
Above & Beyond

My Own Hymn (Track 2) featuring Zoe Johnston and Northern Soul (Track 3) featuring Richard Bedford have been out in the world for a little while already and have been streamed a whopping three million plus times which gives an inkling to just how excited the world is to have new Above & Beyond tunes on the playlist. My Own Hymn, in particular, is a fantastic track, with Johnston's voice at its absolute ethereal finest. Another favourite comes in at Track 4 with Justine Suissa's golden voice lending itself beautifully to Naked.

music, dance music, electronic, above and beyond, record review
Above & Beyond launch Common Ground

By the time we get to Track 6, Happiness Amplified, which features long-time collaborator Richard Bedford, I'm absolutely in love with this album and can definitely see it on high rotation for the remainder of the Sydney summer.

Listening to the album in its entirety, it strikes me that Above & Beyond are not just another dance group. Sure, their beats are catchy and definitely nightclub-worthy, but their lyrics have depth and their use of splashy synths definitely channel summertime.

The full track listing for Common Ground is below:
1. The Inconsistency Principle
2. My Own Hymn (feat. Zoe Johnston)
3. Northern Soul (feat. Richard Bedford)
4. Naked (feat. Justine Suissa)
5. Sahara Love (feat. Zoe Johnston)
6. Happiness Amplified (feat. Richard Bedford)
7. Is It Love? (1001)
8. Cold Feet (feat. Justine Suissa)
9. Tightrope (feat. Marty Longstaff)
10. Alright Now (feat. Justing Suissa)
11. Bittersweet and Blue (feat. Richard Bedford)
12. Always (feat. Zoe Johnston)
13. Common Ground
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  11
*Emma Jane Explores (Emma Caldwell) was invited as a guest
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Sixth Studio Album From Dance Group Above & Beyond
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles