Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
list an event      1 million Australian readers every month      facebook

12 Angry Men - Enter the Jury Room

Home > Adelaide > Performing Arts | Family | Shows | Community Theatre | Theatre
Event: -

Matt Byrne Media (MBM) is proud to present a brand new take on the timeless Reginald Rose jury room drama, 12 Angry Men, at Holden Street Theatres from October 12 to 29.

For the first time, audiences are invited to enter the jury room and will experience the classic drama from a new perspective. Director/designer Matt Byrne said the reconfigured theatre will result in a more intimate look at the engaging play; "We will put the audience in the jury room with [the actors] and give each patron a connection to one of the 12 jurors," Byrne said. "So [the audience] will be more involved than usual in this absorbing look inside the hearts of men who have a solemn duty to find the truth".

12 Angry Men was initially a television play broadcast in 1954, adapted for the stage in 1956, and was made into a critically acclaimed Academy Award winning film in 1957, directed by Sidney Lumet, starring Henry Fonda as Juror No. 8. It continues to have an enduring appeal, most recently remade for television in 1997 by director William Friedkin with an all-star cast, including George C. Scott, James Gandolfini, Tony Danza, Jack Lemmon, Edward James Olmos and William Petersen.

12 Angry Men centres on the jury of a homicide trial. Set in 1957, New York, 12 men enter a jury room to deliver their verdict on a murder case where a young Puerto Rican man has been accused of murdering his father.

The case appears straightforward, but one man has reasonable doubts about the facts, and against the odds, he must try the case properly in the pressure cooker of the jury room.

"What begins as a judgement on the young man's guilt, soon becomes a fierce examination of the men given the job of deciding his fate. It may be 1957 but it could equally be today" said Byrne.

The production also features a powerful cast, "I have longed to stage this show in The Studio at the wonderful Holden Street Theatres," Byrne said. "It's going to be a very intense production and I'm delighted with the cast." The production will feature David Grybowski as Juror No. 8, with Angus Smith as the Foreman, James McCluskey-Garcia as No. 2, Matt Byrne as No. 3, David Havilland as No. 4, Nathan Quadrio as No. 5, Russell Ford as No. 6, James Black as No. 7, John R. Sabine as No. 9, James Whitrow as No. 10, Neville Phillis as No. 11 and Sam Davy as No. 12.

12 Angry Men will play for a strictly limited season the Holden Street Theatres, 34 Holden Street, Hindmarsh from October 12-15, 19-22 & 26-29 at 8 p.m. & October 22 & 29 at 2 p.m.

Tickets are now on sale and priced as follows: Adults $30 and Concessions $25 with Group Concessions for 10 or more.

Don't miss this opportunity to see this powerful play in a new immersive environment; book your tickets now on 8262 4906,, 8225 8888 or

For more information on this exciting theatre production, please visit

Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  35
Share: email  facebook  twitter
When: October 12-15, 19-22 & 26-29 at 8 p.m. & October 22 & 29 at 2 p.m
Where: Holden Street Theatres at 34 Holden Street, Hindmarsh
Cost: Adults $30 and Concessions $25 with Group Concessions for 10 or more.
Your Comment
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles