Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations      HubGarden      Recipes

New South Wales Country Shows 2014

Home > Newcastle > Community Events | Escape the City | School Holiday Activities | School Holidays | Weekend Escapes
by Carolyn Hopping (subscribe)
I'm a freelance writer based in Perth, Western Australia, who enjoys writing about the things I love: travel, nature-based activities, the arts, spirituality and creative, fun activities for children.
Event: -
Experience One Of Australia's Favourite Family Traditions
If there's a single community event that touches the lives of most Australians, young and old, it would have to be the humble agricultural show. Regardless of age and social status, or whether we're from the city or country, the tropics or Tasmania, most of us have visited one of these colourful carnivals at least once in our lives, and have treasured childhood memories connected to them.

All children love a country show!
Children always love visiting a country show


Here in New South Wales, the first show was held at Parramatta in 1823 - just 35 years after British colonists sailed into Botany Bay and established their antipodean penal settlement. Modelled on the country fairs back home in England, its aim was to encourage rural enterprise in the new colony. As the years passed and colonial settlement infiltrated further inland, small agricultural societies were established in outlying areas and local events were also held. Hence, a much-loved Australian tradition was born: the country show.

Working sheep dog displays are always popular at the show. This image is by Fairv8 at Wikimedia Commons
Working sheep dog demonstrations are always popular at the show. This image is by Fairv8 at Wikimedia Commons


Country shows were a chance for local primary producers to show off their prized livestock and harvest, competing with each other for cash awards. They provided an opportunity to compare notes on the latest farming methods and the chance to establish advantageous social and business connections, to catch up with old friends and family members, and for the young, to perhaps meet and court a marriage partner.

Wood-chopping demonstration. This image is by Fairv8 at Wikimedia Commons
Wood-chopping demonstration. This image is by Fairv8 at Wikimedia Commons


These days, agricultural shows, large and small, are no longer just for the country bumpkins. While the above-mentioned objectives still ring true, country shows now often serve as trade fairs showcasing local enterprise of every kind, creativity and recreational pursuits, and are vibrant carnivals attracting visitors from far and wide. For city slickers, eager to escape the noise and pollution of urban life, a visit to a country show provides the chance to relish a time-honoured Australian tradition, with events such as wood-chopping, blacksmithing, sheep-shearing and working sheep-dog displays giving visitors the rare opportunity to observe traditional rural skills.

Country shows are suger-lover's paradises
Country shows are paradide for sugar lovers!


In a nutshell, if you're looking for wholesome, old-fashioned Australian fun that everyone in the family will enjoy, look no further than one of New South Wales' fabulous country shows. Held in every part of the state, from the eastern seaboard to the vast inland regions, there is sure to be one, or more, not too far from where you live. Load the car, grab the kids and escape the Big Smoke for an unforgettable weekend of family-friendly entertainment and fun.

Country shows in New South Wales are held throughout the year. Following is a list of the events that will be held over the rest of 2014. For more information about New South Wales agricultural shows, including the confirmation of dates, take a look at the Agricultural Societies Council of New South Wales website.

Friday April 4 - Saturday April 5: Camden Agricultural Show; Gloucester Agricultural Show; Moree Agricultural Show; Muswellbrook Agricultural Show

Saturday April 5: Binnaway Agricultural Show

Sunday April 6: Mendooran Agricultural Show

Monday April 21: Jerrawa Agricultural Show
Friday April 25: Wauchope Agricultural Show

Friday April 25 - Saturday April 26: Stroud Agricultural Show; Narrabri Agricultural Show

Tuesday April 29 - Wednesday April 30: Kempsey Agricultural Show

May 2 - May 3: Macksville Nambucca River Agricultural Show; Bonalbo Agricultural Show

Friday May 2 - Sunday May 4: Bathurst Agricultural Show; Gunnedah Agricultural Show

Saturday May 3 - Sunday May 4: Gosford Regional Show

Monday May 4: Woodenbong Agricultural Show

Tuesday May 6 - Wednesday May 7: Maclean Agricultural Show

Thursday May 8 - Saturday May 10: Warialda Agricultural Show

Friday May 9 - Saturday May 10: Grafton Agricultural Show

Friday May 9 - Sunday May 11: Hawkesbury District Agricultural Show

Saturday May 10 - Sunday May 11: Walgett Agricultural Show

Saturday May 10: Bourke Agricultural Show

Saturday May 10 - Sunday May 11: Orange Agricultural Show

Tuesday May 13: Yeoval Agricultural Show

Friday May 16 - Saturday May 17: Cobar Agricultural Show

Friday May 16 - Sunday May 18; Coffs Harbour Agricultural Show; Wee Waa Agricultural Show

Saturday May 17: Wellington Agricultural Show

Saturday May 17 - Sunday May 18: St Ives Show

Sunday May 18 - Monday May 19: Nyngan Agricultural Show

Tuesday May 20 - Wednesday May 21: Gilgandra Agricultural Show

Friday May 23 - Sunday May 25: Dubbo Agricultural Show

Saturday May 24 - Sunday May 25: Bellinger River Agricultural Show

Tuesday May 27 - Wednesday May 28: Coonamble Agricultural Show

Saturday May 31: Gulargambone Agricultural Show

Saturday May 31 - Sunday June 1: Bulli Show

Saturday June 7: Warren Agricultural Show

Friday August 8 - Saturday August 9: Tullamore Agricultural Show

Saturday August 9 - Sunday August 10: Mungindi Agricultural Show

Tuesday August 12 - Wednesday August 13: Trundle Agricultural Show

Saturday August 16: Bedgerabong Agricultural Show

Sunday August 17: Weethalle Agricultural Show

Tuesday August 19 - Wednesday August 20: Peak Hill Agricultural Show

Friday August 22 - Saturday August 23: Condobolin Agricultural Show

Saturday August 23: Ganmain Agricultural Show

Monday August 25 - Wednesday August 27: Parkes Agricultural Show

Friday August 29 - Saturday August 30: Narromine Agricultural Show; Grenfell Agricultural Show

Saturday August 30: Lake Cargelligo Agricultural Show, Barellan Agricultural Show

Saturday August 30 - Sunday August 31: Penrith District Show; Wentworth Agricultural Show

Tuesday September 2 - Wednesday September 3: West Wyalong Agricultural Show

Friday September 5 - Saturday September 6: Forbes Agricultural Show; Murrumburrah Harden Agricultural Show

Saturday September 6: Narrandera Agricultural Show; Manildra Agricultural Show; Ungarie Agricultural Show; Campbelltown Show

Saturday September 6 - Sunday September 7: Barmedman Agricultural Show

Sunday September 7: Woodstock Memorial Show; Finley Agricultural Show

Tuesday September 9 - Wednesday September 10: Cowra Agricultural Show

Friday September 12 - Saturday September 13: Eugowra Agricultural Show

Saturday September 13 - Sunday September 14: Hay Agricultural Show; Quirindi Agricultural Show

Sunday September 14: Cudal Agricultural Show; Ariah Park Agricultural Show

Friday September 19 - Sunday September 21: Merriwa Springtime Show

Saturday September 20: Ardlethan Agricultural Show

September 20 - September 21: Nimbin Agricultural Show

Sunday September 21: Molong Agricultural Show

Sunday September 21 - Tuesday September 23: Young Agricultural Show

Friday September 26 - Saturday September 27: Kyogle Agricultural Show; Canowindra Agricultural Show

Friday September 26 - Sunday September 28: Singleton Agricultural Show

Saturday September 27: Temora Agricultural Show; Hillston Agricultural Show

Sunday September 28: Lockhart Agricultural Show

Thursday October 2 - Friday October 3: Wagga Wagga Agricultural Show

Saturday October 4: Culcairn Agricultural Show; Bribbaree Agricultural Show

Sunday October 5: Berrigan Agricultural Show

Sunday October 5 - Monday October 6: Griffith Agricultural Show

Monday October 6: Morongla Agricultural Show; Walbundrie Agricultural Show

Friday October 10 - Saturday October 11: Leeton Agricultural Show

Saturday October 11: Casino Agricultural Show; Illabo Agricultural Show; Trunkey Creek Agricultural Show

Saturday October 11 - Sunday October 12: Taree Agricultural Show; Picton Agricultural Show

Sunday October 12: Corowa Agricultural Show

Monday October 13: Royal Norfolk Island Show

Thursday October 16 - Saturday October 18: Lismore Agricultural Show

Friday October 17 - Saturday October 18: Barham Agricultural Show

Saturday October 18: Cootamundra Agricultural Show; The Rock Agricultural Show; Tooraweenah Agricultural Show

Friday October 24 - Saturday October 25: Alstonville Agricultural Show

Saturday October 25: Carcoar Agricultural Show; Junee Agricultural Show

Friday October 31 - Saturday November 1: Murwillumbah Agricultural Show

Friday October 31 - Sunday November 2: Albury Agricultural Show

Saturday November 1 - Sunday November 2: French's Forest Show

Saturday November 8: Holbrook Agricultural Show; Neville Agricultural Show

Saturday November 8 - Sunday November 9: Queanbeyan Agricultural Show; Mullumbimby Agricultural Show

Monday November 9: Minto Agricultural Show

Friday November 14 - Saturday November 15: Bangalow Agricultural Show; Bulahdelah Agricultural Show

Saturday November 22 - Sunday November 23: Dorrigo Agricultural Show
Help us improve  Click here if you liked this article  28
Share: email  facebook  twitter
Why? Country shows are loads of fun for the whole family
When: Throughout the year
Where: All around New South Wales
Cost: It varies
Your Comment
More Sydney articles
Articles from other cities
Top Events
Popular Articles
Categories
Lists
Questions