Subscribe      List an Event or Business      Invite a Writer      Write for WN      Writers      Other Locations
Home > Melbourne > Comments > Do You Need to Leave a Tip in Australia?
Your Reply
Optional Image: (jpg or gif)
Your Email:

Security Image:
quzepd
Security Text:
copy text from image above
Highlighted
minimum score: order: subscribe:
A spade is a spade and if you choose to work in a low paid job then you should only expect to get low pay. I generally agree with most people who had the opinion of 'No'. However everyone has missed some overwhelming points. Australia is one of the highest developed nations in the world and with relatively higher living standards. This is only as a result of setting appropriate legal minimum standards to many various laws and in all industries.

The food & service industry is no exception as the minimum wage is a fair pay for the job (yes I worked in the industry when I was younger). It’s enough to live a basic good life and when it isn’t, it then gets lifted.

For the writer who claimed the industry wouldn’t survive if they didn’t under pay their staff, it’s a load of rubbish. Those who accept this only deserve such treatment. They should grow some balls and demand you get your legal entitlements. If your employer refuses then you should report the business to the correct authorities and find a job that awards legal entitlements.

If the business isn’t so successful then their prices will be lower, draw less business and they will pay their staff minimum wage. If it’s a great business it will charge higher prices, earn higher profits and afford to pay their staff higher wages. That is how business works in Australia.